The flaw of words

Found a really great post about “Words” in erbdex’s blog.

The string needs to be taut to get the message across.

We use written words in an attempt to paint the picture or experience so that we can share it with others. But, more often than not, these set of words may only reflect what is most meaningful to the receiver.

The receiver may also interpret it differently and write his own version of the experience. This does not mean that the receiver is wrong. It is merely a reflection that he was trying to fulfill a different set of needs when he interacted with the picture or experience.

When I see a tall building, I use a few words to describe it. But some people, some fans, take what you say to them seriously and rigidly. So, they thought my flowery description of the words perfectly embody the tall building and its surrounding. Whereas, the truth could be that I am just leaving traces of puzzles here and there.

This means that my description of the experience (my words / story / description) is just a subset of the original experience (tall building). But, we usually think as if the experience (tall building) has successfully been made a subset of the description (my words / story / description).

The above is a rather friendly scenario. But in some instances, there are people who would worship what I said and treat my description as the Truth, that is when problem arises because they may take my word for it and use it as a measure against others’ words.

So, when you read or hear some description from others. You should also go see for it yourself. Perhaps you will get some other interesting inspiration or interpretation.

About 7des7iny

Greetings blessed couples & visitors, I hope my humble blog will be helpful towards your hunt for that perfect auspicious wedding date. If you are worried about conflicting information from other sources that are equally reputable, just identify the common auspicious date and use it ^_^
This entry was posted in Buddhism, Self Improvement. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The flaw of words

  1. erbdex says:

    Thank you for the acknowledgement, It was most kind of you.

  2. Meg Sultani says:

    I have recently started a web site, the information you provide on this web site has helped me greatly. Thank you for all of your time & work. “You do ill if you praise, but worse if you censure, what you do not understand.” by Leonardo DaVinci.

  3. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  4. Dog Training says:

    Just desire to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity in your post is simply cool and i could assume you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the enjoyable work.

Leave a Reply

